For those saying that the puck hitting the camera should have been delay of game, here's what the IIHF rules say:
RULE 135 – DELAY OF GAME/SHOOTING OR THROWING THE PUCK OUT OF PLAY
"v. A player who lifts the puck from the defending zone and hits the scoreclock or any structural object above the ice surface, causing a stoppage of play, will not be assessed a penalty."
If it was the other way I wouldn't be making an issue of it. Never feel great about an over the glass call, esp. when already shorthanded.I mean, I don't care much. Happy for Canada... but that puck was out of bounds.. the very camera it hit shows that it was already out of bounds... I guarantee twitter will be loaded with images of that puck out of bounds very soon.
The penalty music was silly and kinda funny the first time, but some of the other music was enraging. Especially that one song with lyrics that just said "yupyupyupyup"You don't like the penalty music?
Above the surface ..( camera was out of play ). I am Canadian and glad we won . But should have been a 5 on 3 for Russia ...v. A player who lifts the puck from the defending zone and hits the scoreclock or any structural object above the ice surface, causing a stoppage of play, will not be assessed a penalty.
Apology awaited.
but it wasn't above the ice surface.It was connected to the glass, which is a structural object.
The right call was not made as the puck did not hit the camera above the ice surface (i.e. in any area that would be covered if the ice surface was vertically projected). It hit it outside of the ice boundaries.
And read what I wrote afterwards. I dont go back in time to edit the posts just for the sake of being "right". I didnt know of such rule and by the looks of it the rule is indeed questionable and has some grey area to it.
Sorry, credit goes to your dogI decided to walk my dog when the Russians went up 3-1. When I got home the Canadians were receiving their gold medals. I feel that, somehow, I was responsible for this.
Above the surface ... I am Canadian and glad we won . But should have been a 5 on 3 for Russia ...
Still think we would have killed it off tho
I mean, the ref standing right there called it a penalty... that is clear as day in the replay! Why it got reversed is beyond me but the call on the ice was a penalty.Again, you're acting like there is instant replay. A ref can't see that. Russia should have never had a powerplay for the dive a minute earlier anyway.
and is considered "Over the ice" (which it is but it also isn't in another sense).Depends if a camera is "structural"
If it was the other way I wouldn't be making an issue of it. Never feel great about an over the glass call, esp. when already shorthanded.
I'm Canadian... And there was an official that called it before they discussed together. Agreed it's a matter of inches, but a rule is a rule, and it was wrongly assumed the whole camera was directly above the ice.Boo hoo. It's an extremely fine line and the refs weren't sure. It's inches of difference. Far, far less egregious than half of the brutal calls in the game. Enough with the whining already. Russia's goalie made a brutal play on the winner and dove all game. He should have had two penalties against him for diving. Same difference, better team won.
v. A player who lifts the puck from the defending zone and hits the scoreclock or any structural object above the ice surface, causing a stoppage of play, will not be assessed a penalty.
Apology awaited.
but it wasn't above the ice surface.
Well then don't make comments when you don't know the rules and expect not to be called out? This whole argument started because of your ignorance.