saintunspecified
Registered User
- Nov 30, 2017
- 5,999
- 4,319
yes, elvis is don quixote of hairballs instead of windmills.So you think Palmeri wasn't in the crease when Merzlikins pushed him out? What was Merzlikin doing, flailing at windmills?
What This Means for You:
Our team is working with Xenforo Cloud to recover data using backups, sitemaps, and other available resources. We know this is frustrating, and we deeply regret the impact on our community. We are taking steps with Xenforo Cloud to ensure this never happens again. This is work in progress. Thank you for your patience and support as we work through this.
In the meantime, feel free to join our Discord Serveryes, elvis is don quixote of hairballs instead of windmills.So you think Palmeri wasn't in the crease when Merzlikins pushed him out? What was Merzlikin doing, flailing at windmills?
What I said, and I assume others are also saying, is that you may as well blow it dead. If there's a game situation where goals can't be scored, play shouldn't continue as normal. Either treat it like a high-stick/hand pass or blow it dead (i.e. if the team that violates the crease controls the puck blow the whistle). Play shouldn't continue as normal if for some vague period of time, no goals can be scored. That creates a unique situation in the sport.
Didn't realize that was what he was talking about when he responded to me. Yeah, unless you implement some kind of hard line as to time between contact and the puck going in (which would provide consistency in how the rule is called but would not be able to account for severity of contact), then you may as well just blow it dead if contact in the crease occurs which would be enough to call off a potential goal.
He takes contact, and pushes him off with his blocker, it doesn't matter WHERE Palmieri is, it matters where Merzlikens is when contact is made.Yes, you are actually. When Merzlikins starts to push Palmieri with his glove, Palmieri is OUTSIDE of the crease.
You are also ignoring the fact that Merzlikins still has time to track the puck, initiate a controlled slide to be in butterfly position and take it to the chest before it gets tipped against the grain.
This is literally verifiable by watching the overhead angle. This isn't the Zapruder film, this is Elvis taking contact, then pushing Palmieri when he has already exited the crease.
His initial push is with his blocker, and then he continues to unnecessarily push with his glove when Palmieri is already outside of the crease. At that point, he has a clear line of sight at the puck, reacts, and tracks it perfectly until it is deflected past him.He takes contact, and pushes him off with his blocker, it doesn't matter WHERE Palmieri is, it matters where Merzlikens is when contact is made.
Yes, you are actually. When Merzlikins starts to push Palmieri with his glove, Palmieri is OUTSIDE of the crease.
You are also ignoring the fact that Merzlikins still has time to track the puck, initiate a controlled slide to be in butterfly position and take it to the chest before it gets tipped against the grain.
His initial push is with his blocker, and then he continues to unnecessarily push with his glove when Palmieri is already outside of the crease. At that point, he has a clear line of sight at the puck, reacts, and tracks it perfectly until it is deflected past him.
What part of what he just did is impacted by the contact with Palmieri? Was it the tracking? No, he tracked it perfectly. Was it the position he was in? No, he had time and space to edge forward out of the crease but was still caught up with pushing Palmieri with his glove (unnecessarily, which is key). Was it squaring up to the shot? No, he was squared up and would have saved it if not for a deflection that he wouldn't have reacted to regardless.
The contact had nothing to do with the puck getting past him.
Regardless of whether he had time to react to Palmieri slightly bumping him, he still unnecessarily pushed him which was the main thing preventing him getting "set" to make the save. Regardless, he still tracked and faced the puck in a controlled way, but lost due to a deflection.Again — 0.1 seconds pass from the time Palmieri exits the blue paint till Merzlikins raises his glove.
You are saying he was supposed to read and react to Palmieri’s location within 0.1 seconds of being jostled?
0.1 seconds is the limit of human perception, the speed of pure reflex. It is literally not possible to make an analytical decision in that amount of time.
And if he had slid in the direction of the shot, it would have gone into the net on the other side. The correct play for him here was to get above his crease and front the puck.
Palmieri knew that, of course, and correctly stationed himself in the line of the shot so that Merzlikins couldn’t get there in time. He intended to make a good hockey play. The problem being that he had to stay completely outside the blue paint in order for that screen to be legal. He got in just a little too tight, initiated contact, and invalidated any outcome of that scoring opportunity.
Regardless of whether he had time to react to Palmieri slightly bumping him, he still unnecessarily pushed him which was the main thing preventing him getting "set" to make the save. Regardless, he still tracked and faced the puck in a controlled way, but lost due to a deflection.
Elvis still had time to get to the outskirts of his crease and face the shot, so the contact didn't impede his ability to do that. Palmieri would still be in the same position without the contact, which would have prevented Elvis from getting further outside his crease.
The fact that I think him sliding to face a puck head on in the butterfly, where, if undeflected, it would have hit him CENTER MASS, means I have no fundamental knowledge of what it's like out there?It has everything to do with allowing him to play his position.....he definitely did not track it "perfectly" The fact that you think because he slid to the right he was tracking it perfectly, I don't know what to tell you, goes back to you having no fundamental knowledge of what it's like out there...
Again, you are taking invidual screen shots as still photos, of a 1 second live action play, and trying to hammer them down to fit your non GI stance....it's absolutely ridiculous at this point.
Except contact wasn't made in the crease at the same time a goal was scored, it was made long enough before the goal that the goalie had time to reset and have a fair shake at the shot. Unless there is a hard-line of time between contact and the puck entering the net, we have to look at weird details like we're doing now, and they point to Elvis having enough time after contact to have a fair shake at making the save (which he wouldn't have regardless).And NONE of that matters, once contact is made in the crease at the same time a goal is scored,
Imagine that. We get it, you either don't like the rules, or don't understand how they are applied, or both,
The fact that I think him sliding to face a puck head on in the butterfly, where, if undeflected, it would have hit him CENTER MASS, means I have no fundamental knowledge of what it's like out there?
I'm not taking individual screenshots you goof, I'm literally using the same videos we're all working off of, and focusing on the overhead video which those in favour of it being GI cite as the definitive proof of it.
Furthermore, I'm ambivalent to these two teams and was actually cheering for Columbus since I'm a Habs fan and a Columbus win was better for our playoff hopes. As a fan, I'm happy it got called back. It shouldn't have been though.
Except it is based in reality since he still had a fair shot at making the save despite the contact, and that's before we even look at the fact that he wasted precious "milliseconds" (hundreds of them btw) pushing a guy who had already exited the crease.I wasn't being literal, let me try again, you are taking the video.....and breaking it down to milliseconds, to justify a position that has no basis in reality of time and space and logic. You are sayin g that Merzlikins had time to reset everything and being jostled didn't matter at all, and that's just not based in reality, which again, is something you would know, if you have been in that position before.
Except it is based in reality since he still had a fair shot at making the save despite the contact, and that's before we even look at the fact that he wasted precious "milliseconds" (hundreds of them btw) pushing a guy who had already exited the crease.
It's a controversial application of the GI rule that decided the fate of a nearly must-win game between two teams fighting for the playoffs, it deserves to be scrutinized to the last detail.
Hockey is constantly measured in milliseconds and slo-mo video lmao, what do you think goalie interference and offside challenges are?Again, not even close to reality, you are literally trying to measure hockey...in milliseconds and slow mo video, think about that for a bit.
Repeating yourself over and over isn't going to make your interpretation any more accurate. You're assuming that a second is enough time. Years and years of NHL referee precident starkly disagrees with you.Shoving your fingers in your ears and going "lalala" isn't going to change what I just wrote.
The contact was by an attacking player who was in the crease, therefore per the rulebook, it doesn't matter; Palmieri is still in the wrong and it's still GI.Nah some of you are weak as hell. That is absolutely NOT a goalie interference penalty. You can say KP initiated the contact but it was minimal and EM escalated it by lunging into him and then stiff arming him.
The bolded is incorrect, and (with one exception that's since been corrected) folks here aren't saying that. It's when the attacker has part of their body in the crease. Which Palmieri did.Our rules lawyers here are very clear that any contact with the goalie when the goalie has part of their body in the crease that changes the way any goalie plays or how they understand their position for some indeterminate period of time should result in waived off goals..
And, yeah, I think if that's what the rule means then it's crazypants to pretend play continues as normal.
When Elvis starts to reach with his glove (but before he makes contact), Palmieri is still within the crease. Remember, we're debating Goalie Reaction Time here, so he's already committed to the followup shove.Yes, you are actually. When Merzlikins starts to push Palmieri with his glove, Palmieri is OUTSIDE of the crease.
When Elvis starts to reach with his glove (but before he makes contact), Palmieri is still within the crease. Remember, we're debating Goalie Reaction Time here, so he's already committed to the followup shove.