Personally I'm for it. Seen to many series & games come down to missed stoppages, like a player completely offside where the linesmen were just stunned. It does suck sometimes but I'd rather them make the right call more often than not; in a game with so much parity there's really little room for error.Honestly, the rule is fine. The right answer is to just remove the video reviews, as they provide almost nothing positive. Sure, 1/1000 times the review fixes something obvious, but it's not worth it as most reviews just end up being over the tiniest hair splitting that makes no difference to the actual play, and completely ruin the flow and excitement of the game.
Imagine a league that takes something exciting like a game tying goal in the last couple minutes and turns it into a 5 minute stand around fest to decide the ending of the game.
Personally I'm for it. Seen to many series & games come down to missed stoppages, like a player completely offside where the linesmen were just stunned. It does suck sometimes but I'd rather them make the right call more often than not; in a game with so much parity there's really little room for error.
Just think they need to modify it, but not sure how.
Must have been a slow night for da American staff working in Toronto's NHL control room .. neither ref, linesmen or either team's coach called for a review .. so somehow da hand of god someone from situation room calls down to guy working game sheet to say it was a hand pass and should have been blown dead .. wow .. and it is not an OBVIOUS hand pass at all .. Mitch is behind Rielly and Rielly has his glove up trying to keep puck moving forward not backward .. it only goes backward because it hits Keller skate and deflects back to Mitch .. completely BIZARRE ruling that was a pass@wingman75
Here's where I'm confused...
Here is the rule the situation room cited: "A player may bat a puck in the air with an open hand unless in the opinion of the on-ice officials he has directed the puck to a teammate... blah blah blah".
Ok. The on-ice officials didn't call anything. In fact, the ref states CLEAR AS DAY (maybe as a semi-criticism of the ruling?) that it was the situation room that determined there was a glove pass.
So what the f***. They're just literally ignoring the rule book?
When ruling comes out i think you are gonna hear that there was no hand pass at all .. it was ruled to be a high stick where Keller hit puck with high stick and then was 1st Zona guy to touch puck therefore a clear high stick play stoppage should have occurredMust have been a slow night for da American staff working in Toronto's NHL control room .. neither ref, linesmen or either team's coach called for a review .. so somehow da hand of god someone from situation room calls down to guy working game sheet to say it was a hand pass and should have been blown dead .. wow .. and it is not an OBVIOUS hand pass at all .. Mitch is behind Rielly and Rielly has his glove up trying to keep puck moving forward not backward .. it only goes backward because it hits Keller skate and deflects back to Mitch .. completely BIZARRE ruling that was a pass
You are 100% correct.@wingman75
Here's where I'm confused...
Here is the rule the situation room cited: "A player may bat a puck in the air with an open hand unless in the opinion of the on-ice officials he has directed the puck to a teammate... blah blah blah".
Ok. The on-ice officials didn't call anything. In fact, the ref states CLEAR AS DAY (maybe as a semi-criticism of the ruling?) that it was the situation room that determined there was a glove pass.
So what the f***. They're just literally ignoring the rule book?
Intent is irrelevant. If you knock the puck down with your hand and a teammate touches it next, it's a hand pass.I don’t see how they call that.
1. Rielly is clearly about to glove it down to his own stick.
2. The intent to direct it to a teammate isn’t present.
3. The defender’s stick arrives before the puck, and impedes Rielly’s willful actions.
It’s a stray puck deflection off the glove, and a bull*^%# call.
And a goalie is allowed to hold the puck in his glove! Even right in the crease! How unfair is that?But you're allowed to pass the puck by a kicking motion to a player who scores, a goalie can purposely redirect the puck with his blocking pad which may result in a goal. What's the difference?
For the last few years they have reviewed all goals, not for penalties, but for things that should have caused a stoppage in play, such as a high stick, puck into the netting, and a hand pass.I did not even know they could review hand passes wtf
I thought it looked like it hit the skate too, but I didn't see anything clear enough in any of the replays. Also, it may not have been enough for 'possession', if that's relevant.The gloved puck clearly goes off the Arizona's players skate.
Wouldn't that negate the glove puck?
Just like a delayed high sticking the puck, if the other team touches it game on.
Rules have changed ..@wingman75
Here's where I'm confused...
Here is the rule the situation room cited: "A player may bat a puck in the air with an open hand unless in the opinion of the on-ice officials he has directed the puck to a teammate... blah blah blah".
Ok. The on-ice officials didn't call anything. In fact, the ref states CLEAR AS DAY (maybe as a semi-criticism of the ruling?) that it was the situation room that determined there was a glove pass.
So what the f***. They're just literally ignoring the rule book?
But my question is about the careful wording of the rule that doesn't apply to almost any other rule. If you look at offsides, high-sticking, etc. it just says the rule. The end. The refs, and (if need be) the situation room can interpret the rule.When Are Hand Passes Illegal In Laymans Terms
Okay now that we’ve gone through the rulebook on hand passes let’s break this term down in a way we can understand. When looking to determine when hand pass is legal there are three main factors you want to take into account.
Number one did the hand pass direct the puck towards a teammate, two how long did the player hold onto the puck and three where on the ice did the hand pass occur.
Passing To A Teammate
The most common reason a hand pass is going to be called is when the puck is passed from one teammate to another.
As you can see from the rulebook it is completely legal to bat, push and stop a puck with an open hand. But if any of these actions are down to move the puck to a teammate an illegal hand pass is going to be called.
Even if a hand pass is simply pushed into open ice resulting in a teammate skating in and picking up the puck this will still be considered a hand pass. The reason for this is because the rule states that moving the puck with your hand can not give your team an advantage.
Even if a player were to unintentionally hand pass to a teammate it would be called so long as it gave the hand passing team possession or an advantage.
Additionally, hand passes are going to be called if a player passes to a teammate indirectly or directly. This means if a player hits the puck with his hand his teammate cannot gain possession even if the puck is deflected off an opposing teams player.
The easiest way to remember the hand pass rule is to think of it in terms of benefiting your team. If a player on your team hits the puck with his hand and it positively affects your team it will almost always be called.
In other words, the hand pass rules are put in place to ensure a team does not reap benefits from hitting the puck with their hand. The only real way to effectively use your hand is to bat the puck away to buy time or to bat the puck towards yourself.
But my question is about the careful wording of the rule that doesn't apply to almost any other rule. If you look at offsides, high-sticking, etc. it just says the rule. The end. The refs, and (if need be) the situation room can interpret the rule.
But for hand-passes out of the air, it specifically states that it's based on the "opinion of the on ice officials". This is rare wording. Doesn't that mean the war room is supposed to just defer to what the refs called? This rule (quite rarely) goes out of its way to say it's the call of the on ice officials. Because, again, for offsides/high sticking/etc. the rule does not specifically state that it's directly just the opinion of the on ice officials. Did the war room overstep its power? Even the ref reading out the decision specifically states that it was the situation room, not the refs, who made the decision. It looked to me like the ref was possibly angry at the war room overstepping.
So why does this rule in particular (hitting the puck out of the air) specifically state that it's of the opinion of on ice officials, but other rules don't don't state that? Isn't that written for a reason? Why would they specifically write that about THIS rule, not other rules, if it doesn't mean anything?From the updated Video review rules it seems to suggest the Off-ice officials Supersede the opinion of the On-ice officials on missed calls :
Every goal shall be reviewed by the NHL Situation Room.
When the NHL Situation Room observes an incident involving a potential goal that was undetected by the On-Ice Officials, the Off-Ice Official will contact the Referee at the first stoppage of play and inform him that a review of the play is in progress. The Public Address Announcer will make an announcement that “the play is under review.” If the review reveals that the goal should be counted, the clock (including penalty time clocks, if applicable) shall be re-set to the time the goal was scored. If the review reveals that no goal was scored, no adjustment to the time clock(s) will be made.
Is This Call Reviewable?
Yes, throughout the many NHL seasons in which the hand pass rules have been in place several game-changing goals featured potential missed calls regarding hand passes.
Due to these missed calls, the NHL began reviewing hand pass goals in the 2020 NHL season. A hand pass cannot be reviewed in terms of calling a penalty but it can be part of the review process when determining whether a goal was legal or not.
So why does this rule in particular (hitting the puck out of the air) specifically state that it's of the opinion of on ice officials, but other rules don't don't state that? Isn't that written for a reason? Why would they specifically write that about THIS rule, not other rules, if it doesn't mean anything?
No, I still don't get it.You might be missing the point where it results in a goal as all those are reviewed.
There are actually legal hand passes in the NHL at the discretion of the Ref .. You can hand pass legally in your own Dzone to a teammate. You can glove a pass down and if the other team gains possession & its play on and legal. Its only when the hand pass occurs in the offensive zone either intentional or unintentional that leads to an advantage, and eventually a goal that is "under review" if the On-ice official missed it in real time.
Remember the NHL rule book has been in place for decades, but video review was put in place the last few years because of plays like hand passes that went undetected and resulted in goals, that should not have counted.
The intent of video review is to make sure the right call is made, and not a missed call allowed to determine the outcome of a game. More accuracy in allowed goals is a good thing. Leafs getting caught is likely not.![]()
I'm going to ask the same question I asked last year when I see this response; how come the Leafs are the only team in the NHL who HAVE to show up for 60 minutes or the win is somehow not legit? What did Arizona play in this game, 5 minutes?Show up for 60 minutes and theses rules will have no impact.
They didn't win, they lost.I'm going to ask the same question I asked last year when I see this response; how come the Leafs are the only team in the NHL who HAVE to show up for 60 minutes or the win is somehow not legit? What did Arizona play in this game, 5 minutes?