Proposal: WSH - EDM

Roshi

Feb 7, 2013
Finland
Edit. Puljujarvi obviously isnt avaivable (for this return atleast) so lets move on from that.

Bowey for Benson.?

Original effort:

ok, im not good with proposals and shouldnt be doing this. But its summer, office is quiet and i have nothing to do at work so just for the fun of it:

Capitals gives:

Andre Burakovsky (LW)
Lucas Johansen (LD)
+

Edmonton gives:

Jesse Puljujarvi (RW)
Tyler Benson (C)

Why?

Its the famous EDM needs d-prospects take, thats maybe aging out. But here Oilers gets a top4-projected LD thats already been growing to the projection couple years in and should be 1-2 AHL seasons away from making his mark at the big league. Was drafted late first round 2016. On the other hand Caps have a surplus of D-prospects and they are good while trading one for ”needs”. And the need is empty glaring offensive talent-pool after the guys who are already up. Tyler Benson was drafted early second round in the same draft as Johansen, but i admit that i dont know too much of this guy. Has decent stats from juniors and made a good AHL debut last year in. This isnt the main swap on the deal though.

Burakovsky is 3 years older than Puljujarvi, and so is he bit more mature. Still young and although he havent really bursted out, its coming. Reirden might get it done next year, but we will have some decisions to be done if that happens. So if we can make the decision right away, why not? Bura also played on the same line with McDavid in juniors and they had chemistry there, so it might be a huge homerun if they can get it going in the NHL aswell. Puljujarvi has a monster upside and that makes him more valuable as Burakovsky, but not by a crazy margin as he havent been able to elevate it (yet) in Edmonton. Caps like themselves some size on the wings, and Pulju brings that too along with the upside. Also helps out the upcoming cap-takes next summer.