What This Means for You:
Our team is working with Xenforo Cloud to recover data using backups, sitemaps, and other available resources. We know this is frustrating, and we deeply regret the impact on our community. We are taking steps with Xenforo Cloud to ensure this never happens again. This is work in progress. Thank you for your patience and support as we work through this.
In the meantime, feel free to join our Discord ServerNo one’s betting on the IslesRef wanted to keep his parlay alive.
He is, and if the other player is outside of the crease then it's entirely Elvis' fault for making a boneheaded play.The rulebook does not imply there is a 3D crease. It does state there is a line (2D), and a line means a line.
Let's say there is a 3D crease. Is the goalie allowed to cross his line? Because Merzlikins crosses his too.
...
How is that different from the second play, with Talbot initiating similar contact? You already know: Janmark is outside the crease. It’s only just barely, by his tippy-toes, but that’s fine. He’s allowed to be there. Same situation, same actions, but an inch or two makes all the difference.
Doesn't matter. Palmeri had a presence in the crease, therefore Contact Is His Fault, No Goal.Can you now please tell the court who initiated the contact?
No, they don't. His ass was in the crease. He is therefore encroaching on the crease.This is a straw man. Nobody is arguing that you should be able to interfere with your stick from outside the crease.
You have it backwards. The goalie bumped Palmieri. The rules state that Palmieri can legally occupy the ice he was in.
His ass was in the crease. You don't get to pretend that isn't a thing and then demand everyone else account for it. This has been consistently called for over half a decade now at least, probably longer.I guess we're not ever going to come to an agreement here if you believe that is the order of events.
Once again, the rules state Palmieri was legally allowed to occupy the ice he was on.
I guess we're not ever going to come to an agreement here if you believe that is the order of events.
Once again, the rules state Palmieri was legally allowed to occupy the ice he was on. We have a problem here waiving it off
This is a straw man. Nobody is arguing that you should be able to interfere with your stick from outside the crease.
You have it backwards. The goalie bumped Palmieri. The rules state that Palmieri can legally occupy the ice he was in. We have a problem waiving this off.
But he’s well outside of the crease when he pushed off of him?Looks like GTI to me. Goalie had to push Palmieri out of the way to establish his position in the crease, and didn’t have time to reset before the shot on goal was taken.
Now we're back to you had better let the NHL know so they update their inaccurate rulebook. Their current rules state that Palmieri was legal. We have a problem waiving this off.His ass was in the crease. You don't get to pretend that isn't a thing and then demand everyone else account for it. This has been consistently called for over half a decade now at least, probably longer.
How about you go a few frames back there, bud. The only reason Palmieri is even in that spot is because Merzlikens clips his skates beforehand
Their current rules state that Palmieri was legal.
It goes both ways though…they can’t just let Toronto decide. If the on ice call was good goal, based on video, that would have stood as well…so either way, whatever call the ref makes was going to be the result.
IDK. When a ref makes a split second call and then Toronto goes through as lengthy a review as they did, that tells me the ref jumped the gun. The ref is under no obligation to make a call - IMO the default should be to leave it for review and only make a call if it's a very clear situation, which last night was not.This is insane. The ref should make the call they believe to be right. That’s their job.
Let me spell it out in laymen’s termsHe is, and if the other player is outside of the crease then it's entirely Elvis' fault for making a boneheaded play.
Here's another example from that article I was pointing to (which references the first one I cited earlier):
(emphasis added)
Doesn't matter. Palmeri had a presence in the crease, therefore Contact Is His Fault, No Goal.
No, they don't. His ass was in the crease. He is therefore encroaching on the crease.
I did, that's quite literally what I'm basing that on. When he extends to push Palmieri, he's already outside of the crease. Not just skates outside, full body outside.So you didn't see the overhead view?
Incorrect. His butt was in the crease previously. Yes, the skate contact happened just past the line, but that doesn't matter because Palmeri has any presence in the crease whatsoever, therefore contact between them is his fault.Let me spell it out in laymen’s terms
1. Palmieri’s ass was in the crease BECAUSE MERZLIKENS HIT HIS SKATE BEFOREHAND OUTSIDE OF THE CREASE
For f***'s sake, hon. "Skates in the crease" is not a prerequisite; they got rid of that after a certain infamous goal between the Stars and Sabres. The last time that was the standard, the Columbus Blue Jackets did not exist as a hockey team. You are fully TWENTY-FIVE years out of date.Now we're back to you had better let the NHL know so they update their inaccurate rulebook. Their current rules state that Palmieri was legal.
Now we're back to you had better let the NHL know so they update their inaccurate rulebook. Their current rules state that Palmieri was legal. We have a problem waiving this off.
It's ridiculous to claim they've been consistently calling it this way for years. We always have this debate because they don't consistently call it one way or the other!
I did, that's quite literally what I'm basing that on. When he extends to push Palmieri, he's already outside of the crease. Not just skates outside, full body outside.
For f***'s sake, hon. "Skates in the crease" is not a prerequisite; they got rid of that after a certain infamous goal between the Stars and Sabres. The last time that was the standard, the Columbus Blue Jackets did not exist as a hockey team. You are fully TWENTY-FIVE years out of date.