Predictive Multiple Regression Analysis For Sports Betting

QuadDeuces

Jul 16, 2006
Salt Lake City
Hey all, I'm new to the By The Numbers forum, but as an avid sports bettor with a strong background in math, I've always been intrigued by the applications of statistical analysis for sports betting. My idea is to create a detailed multiple regression analysis for game-by-game outcomes using data from the last 3 seasons.

The aim of the analysis is to create a percent chance of victory for each team. The design I have in mind is an output variable that would produce the percent chance of victory for the home team based on a series of dependent variables.

Thus far, the variables I would like to include:

- Season-to-date win%
- Rolling win% over the last 10 games
- Season-to-date starting goalie SVPCT
- Rolling save % over the last 10 games for said goalie
- Historical goalie SVPCT vs opponent
- Team days of rest
- Goaltender days of rest
- Travel distance from prior destination
- Rolling 10 game head to head win%
- Season-to-date Corsi or Fenwick
- Rolling 10 game Corsi or Fenwick
- Season-to-date team shooting %
- Rolling 10 game shooting %

I'd be open to exploring other variables to add or removing any of the current ones. The 10 games is currently an arbitrary number. I'm certain that this can be optimized to produce the best coefficient, but I think 10 is a good starting point, at least as arbitrary numbers go.

The objective is to run a multiple regression and find which variables are best at predicting a victory, and testing other variables to determine which ones would produce the strongest r and r^2.

My questions are as follows:

- Is there an easier way to obtain this data than to do it manually? I know I can get the season results from hockey-reference, but then I would have to go into each game manually to get the goalie #s. I have no idea whatsoever how to get the Corsi #s.
- Are there any additional variables that you would suggest as useful?