That was a pretty crazy situation. A few thoughts on the play (I'm a Sabres fan, btw. Also an attorney, so I'm very familiar with reading and interpreting rules):
1. Possible head shot by Letang. I would have to go back and watch the replay a bunch more times, but it was pretty close.
2. The high-sticking was clearly caused by Letang's hit and not Peterka's fault. However, I just went back and read Rule 60.1, and it doesn't seem to matter in this situation:
I believe the refs/Toronto got the call wrong according to Rule 60. The rule only discusses accidental contact in the context of a shot follow-through or a face-off. (In other words, stick-lift high stickings should also be penalties according to the letter of the rule.) That being said, because they interpret Rule 60 such that stick lifts are not penalties, then tonight's call makes sense. Seems like the text of the Rule and historical precedent are at odds with one another.
3. However, Rule 60.1 is completely stupid and should be re-written. This situation should not result in a penalty to Peterka in my opinion. Letang directly caused it. While we're at it, they should also re-write 60.3 (which says blood results in a double-minor). That shouldn't be the deciding factor. Bleeding mostly occurs when the stick hits the nose or lip. You can whack someone twice as hard on the cheek with more intention and not draw blood. To me, a double minor should only be called when the Ref believes the high-sticking was done intentionally or with undue recklessness.
4. I like Peterka, but I don't know what he was thinking trying to split the D there.
1. Possible head shot by Letang. I would have to go back and watch the replay a bunch more times, but it was pretty close.
2. The high-sticking was clearly caused by Letang's hit and not Peterka's fault. However, I just went back and read Rule 60.1, and it doesn't seem to matter in this situation:
60.1 High-sticking – For “high-sticking the puck”, refer to Rule 80.
A “high stick” is one which is carried above the height of the opponent’s shoulders. Players must be in control and responsible for their stick. However, a player is permitted accidental contact on an opponent if the act is committed as a normal windup or follow through of a shooting motion, or accidental contact on the opposing center who is bent over during the course of a face-off. A wild swing at a bouncing puck would not be considered a normal windup or follow through and any contact to an opponent above the height of the shoulders shall be penalized accordingly.
I believe the refs/Toronto got the call wrong according to Rule 60. The rule only discusses accidental contact in the context of a shot follow-through or a face-off. (In other words, stick-lift high stickings should also be penalties according to the letter of the rule.) That being said, because they interpret Rule 60 such that stick lifts are not penalties, then tonight's call makes sense. Seems like the text of the Rule and historical precedent are at odds with one another.
3. However, Rule 60.1 is completely stupid and should be re-written. This situation should not result in a penalty to Peterka in my opinion. Letang directly caused it. While we're at it, they should also re-write 60.3 (which says blood results in a double-minor). That shouldn't be the deciding factor. Bleeding mostly occurs when the stick hits the nose or lip. You can whack someone twice as hard on the cheek with more intention and not draw blood. To me, a double minor should only be called when the Ref believes the high-sticking was done intentionally or with undue recklessness.
4. I like Peterka, but I don't know what he was thinking trying to split the D there.