New Announcer Hired For Smackdown

BostonBob

4 Ever The Greatest
Jan 26, 2004
Vancouver, BC
WWE has hired Mauro Ranallo to be the new lead announcer for Smackdown. I've always really liked him so I guess I might have to start actually watching Smackdown instead of watching it in FF through 95 % of the show.

100_3537.JPG

from wrestlinginc.com:

We mentioned earlier that highly regarded MMA, pro wrestling, boxing and kickboxing play-by-play commentator Mauro Ranallo will be calling Smackdown when the show moves to the USA Network in January. Ranallo spoke to Yahoo's Kevin Iole about the move.

"People have called me a pro wrestling announcer and I think at times they weren't intending to be compimentary in calling me that," Ranallo said. "But I'd always thank them for that because at the end of the day, I am a pro wrestling announcer in terms of my passion and enthusiasm and telling stories. I love to paint word pictures with the incredible warriors who step into the ring or the cage with boxing, kick boxing and even the New Japan [wrestling show] with Josh Barnett I did. ... Everyone knows my quirky sense of humor, my shtick, and I can be a ham as a performer. WWE said they want me to be who I am with a little tweaking."

Ranallo has been calling New Japan Pro Wrestling on AXS throughout 2015. There's no word on his possible replacement, but he'll remain in his role as GLORY Kickboxing and Showtime boxing announcer.

The Shockmaster

SHOCK THE WORLD
Jul 30, 2010
Interesting. I thought they would call up one of their developmental main commentators like Rich Brennan or Renee Young.

reckoning

Jan 4, 2005
WWE said they want me to be who I am with a little tweaking."
By tweaking, does that mean they want him to say "WWE Universe" or "Divas Revolution" a dozen times on each show? Or spend the matches talking about what's trending on Twitter instead of calling the action?