GDT: - ECSF: (A1) Toronto Maple Leafs vs (A3) Florida Panthers - GAME 3 - 7 PM EST IN FLORIDA | Page 33 | HFBoards - NHL Message Board and Forum for National Hockey League

GDT: ECSF: (A1) Toronto Maple Leafs vs (A3) Florida Panthers - GAME 3 - 7 PM EST IN FLORIDA

Status
Not open for further replies.
@Oilslick941611 just to get back to you on that broken stick thing, I just spent several minutes perusing the rule book and couldn't find anything that would allow the referees to award a goal or penalty shot for that broken stick play. What "should have happened" is, perhaps theoretically, that playing the puck with the broken stick there is called as a minor penalty, except he touched it with the broken stick... which would have resulted in the play being blown dead, and the fact that the puck went into the net afterwards becomes irrelevant.

What an odd situation. The right thing by the spirit (but not the letter) of the rules happened with the goal being awarded, but it appears that it technically should not have counted, if I'm interpreting the rules correctly and not missing anything.
 
@Oilslick941611 just to get back to you on that broken stick thing, I just spent several minutes perusing the rule book and couldn't find anything that would allow the referees to award a goal or penalty shot for that broken stick play. What "should have happened" is, perhaps theoretically, that playing the puck with the broken stick there is called as a minor penalty, except he touched it with the broken stick... which would have resulted in the play being blown dead, and the fact that the puck went into the net afterwards becomes irrelevant.

What an odd situation. The right thing by the spirit (but not the letter) of the rules happened with the goal being awarded, but it appears that it technically should not have counted, if I'm interpreting the rules correctly and not missing anything.
On a delayed penaly the play dead once the puck touches Woll right?
 
@Oilslick941611 just to get back to you on that broken stick thing, I just spent several minutes perusing the rule book and couldn't find anything that would allow the referees to award a goal or penalty shot for that broken stick play. What "should have happened" is, perhaps theoretically, that playing the puck with the broken stick there is called as a minor penalty, except he touched it with the broken stick... which would have resulted in the play being blown dead, and the fact that the puck went into the net afterwards becomes irrelevant.

What an odd situation. The right thing by the spirit (but not the letter) of the rules happened with the goal being awarded, but it appears that it technically should not have counted, if I'm interpreting the rules correctly and not missing anything.
im surprised theres a provision for playing the puck in the crease with hand/palm, but the same rule is'nt applied to a piece of illegal equipment essentially creating the same situation.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Summer Rose
Status
Not open for further replies.

Users who are viewing this thread

Ad

Ad