The Legs (for hockey/soccer/cycling) + cardio/nutrition

Peeps

May 24, 2017
So I was looking around here and I wasn't seeing a thread about legs. So I'll start one. Correct me if there's a specific one for legs.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The goal of this thread: I'd like to know your feedback about legs workout + cardio/nutrition related to hockey/soccer/cycling.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So quick intro for me, I've been playing dek hockey for more than 10 years now. I'm in my mid-20's today and still playing. Here's my bio for hockey:

Height: 5'10''
Weight: 181lbs (underwear only)
Position: Defenseman (can also play forward)
Style: 2-way defenseman (2-way forward/playmaker)
Shoots: Left

My leg workout:
1) Squat
Everytime I do legs, it's my first exercise. I've started to take my workout seriously now, trying to improve over time.

Max: 3x8 @ 245lbs (two plates +10). Then I continue with 225lbs, 205lbs, 185lbs, 165lbs and close with 135lbs.

That's my leg workout right now. I only do squat and my legs are done. I probably do 70+ squats while dowgrading my weight.

2) Leg Press
Part of my previous leg workout. I used to load four plates + 10 on each side. 5x8/10 (depending)

3) One leg squat with dumbbells (one leg on the bench)
Don't remember right now the weight I use, but it's around 35 lbs on each hands. 5x8/10

4) Hip Adductor/Abductor machine
100lbs - 5x20/25+

5) Calf machine
45lbs - 5x as many as I can (for endurance)

I also go into the sauna for 20mins after each workout. I think it's good for endurance.